In Belgium

Pierre and Suzette Huvelle

Two very significant realities in Belgium are directly inspired by the beguinal movement.
Le petit béguinage de la Lauzelle (La Lauzelle’s small Beguinage) was born in 1995, on the site of the new university of Louvain-la-Neuve, by Pierre and Suzette Huvelle, a couple very committed in the socio-religious field. This set of six houses and an apartment, formerly built around a square (spatial representation “square”, one of the typical forms of traditional beguinages), is inhabited by retired people, single or couple and by a priest, all aged more than 65 years. They have accepted the Charter that in point 3 states : “The Gospel is the first reference in the search for the meaning of life, justice, and fraternal love“. Community commitment, prayer, and cultural encounters are at the center of their community life, but each unit occupies, as in traditional beginages, an autonomous space.

Le béguinage de Béthel (The beguinage of Betel) arised  in a largely immigrant neighborhood in Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode, one of the 19 municipalities of Brussels. After three years of quiet practical existence, in 2014, it became formalized through an article and an interview in the Catholic media, given by sister Marianne Goffoël, one of the two beguinage founders.
From her interview we learn that the beginage took place in a former Dominican sisters convent, still inhabited by two of them, Marianne Goffoël and Myriam Gosseye, the two founders. The three floors of the building have been restructured in apartments, as beguinal life, unlike the conventual one, requires autonomous spaces in which to increase “sanctification in freedom”. Women who have accepted this adventure (be they single, widowed or divorced, but under the age of 65)are responsible for their habitats and personal income. They have in common spiritual research, prayer, community commitment and the spirit of service. “Living the common faith is a very important need” Marianne points out to the radio microphone of “Infocatho Bruxelles”.

En Belgique

Deux réalités très significatives en Belgique s’inspirent directement du mouvement béguinal.

Pierre et Suzette Huvelle

Le petit béguinage de la Lauzelle naît en 1995, sur le site de la nouvelle université de Louvain-la-Neuve, grâce à un couple très engagé dans le contexte socioreligieux, Pierre e Suzette Huvelle. Il s’agit d’un ensemble -six petites maisons et un appartement- construit ex-novo autour d’une petite place (soit la représentation spatiale « à carré », l’une des formes typiques des béguinages traditionnels). Y habitent des personnes pensionnés (de 65 ans au moins), en couple ou pas, et un prêtre. Toutes ont souscrit la Charte qui au point 3 affirme que « L’Évangile est la référence première dans cette recherche de sens de la vie, de justice et d’amour fraternel ». L’engagement communautaire, la prière, les rencontres culturelles sont au centre de ce choix de vie communautaire au sein de la quelle cependant, tout comme dans les béguinages traditionnels, chaque unité jouit d’un espace autonome pour la vie quotidienne.

Le béguinage de Béthel prend forme dans un quartier populaire, fort marqué par l’immigration, à Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode, l’une des 19 communes du grand Bruxelles. Après trois année de vie dans la discrétion, en 2014, l’existence de ce projet est présentée aux médias catholiques, via un article et une interview de l’une des deux fondatrice, sœur Marianne Goffoël.
Nous y apprenons que le béguinage a son siège dans un précédent couvent de sœurs dominicaines, encore habité par les deux sœurs fondatrices, Marianne Goffoël et Myriam Gosseye ; que les trois étages du bâtiment ont été rénovés en appartements, puisque la vie béguinale, contrairement à la vie conventuelle, suppose des espaces autonomes dans lesquels faire éclore sa propre recherche de « sanctification dans la liberté » ; que les femmes (soient-elles célibataires, veuves, séparées ou divorcées, mais d’âge inférieure à 65 ans) qui ont adhéré à cette initiative sont responsables de leur habitat et gardent leurs revenus et ont en commun la recherche spirituelle, la prière, l’engagement communautaire et l’esprit de service. « Vivre la foi en commun est un besoin très important », souligne Marianne au micro de la radio Info-catho Bruxelles.

 

Sources:

  • Mes interviewes
  • Suzette Huvelle, Le petit béguinage de la Lauzelle, in Lumière & Vie, gennaio-marzo 2013
  • http://catho-bruxelles.be/Un-beguinage-a-Bruxelles?lang=fr (innterview de Marianne Goffoël)