In Germany

It is especially in Germany that the beginal renewal seems to live a real spring. In many cities archival documents have been brought to light, referring to ancient settlements, and in 30 localities there are modern concrete initiatives. Sometimes a new beginage are built, like the 19 reviewed below, sometimes there are groups of women who feel united without sharing daily life. Spirituality, when mentioned, is now ecumenical Christianity and often the feminist thought is affirmed.
It all seems to have begun in 1985 when Gertrud Hoffmann, a widow of Catholic tradition, because she couldn’t find traces of beguines in archives and libraries, stimulated the rediscovery of this submerged story. She herself founded a beginage in Essen where she welcomed homeless persons.

Brita Lieb

Since then, a Foundation was created in 2003 http://www.beginenstiftung.de
and a Federation in 2004
www.dachverband-der-beginen.de,
of which Brita Lieb is the current coordinator.
Every year the Federation organizes the Beginenenreise, a study journey of the Beguinal movement. Here are the programs of the years 2018 (Beguines in Switzerland) and  2019 (Beginenreise 2019) and a short Beginenreise 2019 report by Sigrun Dieberg.

Always in Germany, we remember the feminist association BEGINE – Treffpunkt und Kultur für Frauen e. V., that for more than 25 years has been operating in Berlin a cultural commitment and emancipation of women. Although not showing a spiritual inspiration, this cultural center wanted to root into the memory of the beginual movement. The same inspiration is found in the important project the Beginenhof in Berlin, that presents a feminist matrix without explicit spiritual references.

Beginenhof Lieselotte in Tännich
1992-2005

The Beginenhot Tännich in Thuringia, directed by women with experience in feminism and economics, wants to promote women’s entrepreneurship and their public presence. In this farm are living women of all ages, with or without children. It was founded by the daughter of Liselotte Polh-Henn (1908-2000) to honor her mother’s political commitement for women. Each year, on November 3th, the date of Liselotte’s funerals and the execution of Olympe de Gouges in 1793, this initiative is celebrated and the confirmation to the project is annually renewed.
This project unfortunately seems to have been interrupted in 2005.

Modern beguinages in Germany at January 2015
(Source: http://www.dachverband-der-beginen.de/beginenvereine.php)

* Bielefeld
* Bochum
* Bramsche-Malgarten
* Bremen

* Delbrück
* Dortmund
* Essen

* Gelsenkirchen
* Köln
* Krefeld

* Meschede
* Munster
* Ostfriesland / Emsland
* Schwerte I e II
* Tübingen I e II
* Unna

* Westerburg

Sources
Milena Garavaglia, Cohousing al femminile, Abitare nei beghinaggi moderni, e-book, Amazon, 2017
Béguines modernes en Allemagne, interviewes of I.Rudder and Béatrice Bea, by  Bernard Litzier, Radio Suisse Romande “Les beguines, priantes et indépendantes- gennaio 2012
Cited website and https://begine.wordpress.com/

En Allemagne

En Allemagne le renouveau béguinal semble vivre un vrai printemps. Dans beaucoup de villes on a mis en lumière des documents d’archives qui se réfèrent aux anciens emplacements des béguinages et en 30 localités on trouve des modernes initiatives. Parfois on bâtit un nouveau béguinage, voir les 19 ci-dessous mentionnés; parfois des groupes de femmes se sentent faire partie d’un ensemble  sans pour autant partager la vie quotidienne. La spiritualité, lorsqu’elle trouve sa place, est chrétienne œcuménique. La pensée féministe est souvent présente.
Tout semble avoir commencé lorsqu’en 1985 Gertrud Hoffmann, une veuve d’inspiration catholique, ne trouvant pas trace des béguines dans les archives et bibliothèques, promut la redécouverte ce cette histoire enfouie. Elle-même fonda un béguinage à Essen où des sans-abri étaient logés.

Brita Lieb

Depuis lors sont nées
une Fondation en 2003
http://www.beginenstiftung.de
et une Fédération en 2004
www.dachverband-der-beginen.de
dont Brita Lieb est l’actuelle coordinatrice.
Chaque année, la Fédération organise le Beginenenreise, un voyage d’étude du mouvement béguinal. Voici les programmes des années 2018 (Beguines in Switzerland) et de 2019 (Beginenreise 2019).

Toujours en Allemagne, l’association fémministe BEGINE – Treffpunkt und Kultur für Frauen e. V. – depuis plus de 25 ans, est engagée culturellement pour l’émancipation des femmes. Tout en ayant pas une inspiration spirituelle, ce centre culturel a voulu s’enraciner dans la mémoire du mouvement béguinal. La même inspiration se retrouve dans l’important projet Beginenhof à Berlin, lui aussi de matrice féministe sans des références spirituelles explicites.

Beginenhof Lieselotte in Tännich
(1992-2005)

Enfin, le Beginenhot Tännich en Thuringe, dirigé par des femmes avec expérience en féminisme et en économie, veut promouvoir l’entreprenariat féminin et la présence des femmes dans l’espace public. Dans cette ferme habitent des femmes de tout âge, avec ou sans enfants. Il a été fondé par la fille de Liselotte Polh- Henn (1908-2000) qui voulait ainsi rendre hommage à l’engagement politique de sa mère en faveur des femmes. Le 3 novembre de chaque année, date anniversaire de l’enterrement de Liselotte et aussi de la décapitation d’ Olympe de Gouges en 1793, on célèbre la fête annuelle et on reformule les adhésions au projet.

Beguinages modernes en Allemagne en 2015
(Source : http://www.dachverband-der-beginen.de/beginenvereine.php)

* Bielefeld
* Bochum
* Bramsche-Malgarten
* Bremen

* Delbrück
* Dortmund
* Essen

* Gelsenkirchen
* Köln
* Krefeld

* Meschede
* Munster
* Ostfriesland / Emsland
* Schwerte I e II
* Tübingen I e II
* Unna

* Westerburg

Sources
Milena Garavaglia, Cohousing al femminile, Abitare nei beghinaggi moderni, e-book, Amazon, 2017
Béguines modernes en Allemagne, interviews avec I.Rudder et Béatrice Bea, dans le cycle d’émissions Les beguines, priantes et indépendantes réalisé par Bernard Litzier, Radio Suisse Romande – janvier 2012
Les sites web cités et https://begine.wordpress.com/