The Beguinal movement yesterday

Beguine statue
Beguinage of Antwerpen

Toward the end of the twelfth century an utterly new phenomenon occurs: different women intend to exist as such, without being either wives or nuns. They are neighbours or living in the same house or in terraced houses in the same street. Some live as hermits near a church, or with sick people, some live alone or in groups, near a male convent. Others, mainly poor women, choose a wandering apostolic life, praying and begging for “a piece of bread for God’s sake”.

 

This is how the movement of the Beguines comes to life. In spite of a variety of forms, the movement has the same aim everywhere: living a secluded life in an urban environment, heading for perfection through prayers, sanctified work, help of the poor, community life and mystical research, also with forms of asceticism.

The Beguines’ experience is a creative mixture of both secular and religious ingredients. Among the secular ones: individuality, institutional independence, remunerated work. Among the religious ones: a dedicated life with revocable vows, intense praying, help to the poor, mystical research.

The first group of Beguines historically documented develops around Marie d’Oignies (b. 1177- d. 1213). After nursing with her husband a group of lepers for twelve years, in 1207 Marie retires to live a Beguinal life at Oignies, in Hainaut, a province of today Belgium.  A second group forms with the help of Lambert le Bègue. Just before his death in Liège in 1187, the prelate had a group of small houses built around the church of San Christophe, in order to accommodate women intending to live in seclusion. We also know of the existence in Nivelles in 1208 of a group of women devoted to praying and charity.

The considerable increase of their number, the vicissitudes due to an errant life and the clerical pressure for a protected setting of these women lead to the creation of beguinages: groups of small individual houses enclosed by walls, which later acquired the status of a parish. The movement gains its widest expansion in the thirteenth century and develops mainly in the beguinages from the second half of the same century.

Such diversity, and the absence of a centralized administration make it difficult to quantify the number of Beguines. From a letter of Pope John XXII to the bishop of Strasburg, we know that in 1321 only in West Germany live about 200,000 Beguines. In 1372 as many as 1,300 Beguines live in Brussels, that is more than 4% of its 30,000 inhabitants. One estimates that at the moment of its greatest expansion the movement counted about one million Beguines throughout Europe. But there is no documentation for it.

The Beguinal movement does not have a precise origin nor a founder

Saint Begge with Beghards and Beguines , Mechelen

In the seventeenth century there has been an attempt to indentify her in St. Begga, but this attempt lived shortly, as Begga, sister of the abbess Gertrude de Nivelles died much earlier, precisely in 693. Without a founder, without a precise origin, the Beguinal movement also has no unified rule, as each beguinage has its own one. Last but not least, the Beguinal movement has no formal historiography, which partly explains its limited historical visibility.

These women are called by different names according to the country where they live. In one of his sermons, written between 1229 and 1240, Jacques de Vitry enumerates them so:

In Latin           MULIER   RELIGIOSA
In French        PAPELARDE
In Lombard    HUMILIATA
In Tuscan        BIZZOCA
In German      COQUENNUNNE
In Flemish       BEGIJN

The origin of the Flemish name is uncertain: it may be a philological corruption of the word Albigenses; it may come from the colour beige of their dress; it may come from Old German “beggen, beggan”: to pray; or from Old French “begart”: to pour out prayers; or still, from Celtic, in French “bègue-béguelle”: simpleton, bigot.

Beghards

The Beguinal movement includes also men, the Beghards.  Like the Beguines, the Beghards are not tied by irrevocable vows, nor have a unified rule and the members of a community obey only to their local superior. But unlike Beguines, Beghards do not have private property. The brothers in the same convent share their money, live under the same roof and eat at the same table. They are in general of modest origins, weavers, dyers and so on. For this reason they are closely linked to guilds. We even know that in Brussels – and probably elsewhere – no one could ever be admitted to a Beghard convent unless he was a member of the weavers’ guild. Beghards are often men who have suffered hardship, men who had survived friends or have been deprived of familiar ties due to unlucky events, men who could not live on their own because of delicate health, old age, accidents.

The Beguinal movement emerges in the same period of religious fervour when the Franciscan and Dominican orders are born, as well as a number of movements qualified as heretics  [Apostolians, Albigenses, Cathars, Free Spirits, Poor Volunteers] violently repressed by the Church. Also the Beguinal movement is considered suspicious and in the odour of heresy. Thanks to the active intervention of some prelates, in the thirteenth century two Papal bulls  [by Gregory IX in 1233 and by Urban IV in 1269]  are issued in protection of the Beguines in a few  dioceses of what today is Belgium. But the German, French, Italian, and other Beguines found it hard to resist, as the repression was still active elsewhere.

The Inquisition, created in 1231, condemns to the stake also a number of Beguines, among them Lutgarde of Trier in 1231, Aleydis of Cambrai in 1236, and Marguerite Porete in 1310. The Vienne Synod (1311 – 1312) condemns the Beguinal movement as heretic, but the sentences was mitigated by two papal bulls: the first, by John XXII in 1319 in favour of the Beguines of Brabant, the second by Clemente VI in 1343, in favour of the Dutch Beguines.

Beguines

Persecuted, subject to inquisitional procedures, often deprived of their properties, even forced to close their institutions, only the Beguines of the Low Countries manage to hold on without too many aggressions, even in a general atmosphere of suspicion and strict compliance with the authority. In these are hard times, new buildings such as the beguinage of Hoogstraten built in 1380, are extremely rare. The repression lasted until all the Beguines were transferred in closed and strictly controlled communities. The most obstinate Beghards were locally condemned several times and came to an end with the end of the Middle Ages.

The crisis of the Calvinist Reform in the northern Low Countries causes the disappearance of all beguinages, except those in Amsterdam and Breda. In the southern Low Countries, the movement has a revival, but on it the wind of the Counter-Reformation blows, which calls for a stricter supervision by spiritual directors and a stricter seclusion.

The Austrian government, which after the treaty of Utrecht  [1713]  obtains the government of these territories, does not encourage the movement. On the contrary, it introduces a set of obstacles such as permissions and taxes, which forces the Beguines to sell their beguinages at low prices.

Lastly, the French occupation in 1795 confiscates their properties and acknowledges their existence only as charitable services. In 1824 the Beguines obtain the right to wear again their dresses, but not to own their properties, and for a while they are also forbidden to enter new professions.

marcella-ultima-beghina
Marcella Patteijn

In spite of this, in 1896 in Belgium still live 1,230 Beguines. In 1960, 600 Beguines are living in eleven beguinages but at the end of the twentieth century their number can be counted on the fingers of two hands. The latest beguine in the word, Marcella Pattijn (1920- 2013), died Sunday 14 April  2013 in Kortrijck in the home Sint-Jozef where she have lived after have been living in the Kortrijck Beguinage from 1960 to 2005.

VIDEO

Le mouvement béguinal hier

Statue de béguine
Béguinage d’Antwerpen (Anvers)

Vers la fin du XIIe siècle apparaît un fait inédit : des femmes commencent à exister sans être ni épouses ni moniales. Ce sont des voisines, ou elles habitent dans la même maison ou dans des maisons en enfilade dans une même rue. D’autres vivent comme ermites près d’une église, d’autres près des malades et d’autres encore vivent, seules ou en groupe, près d’un couvent masculin. Ou, surtout si elles sont pauvres, elles choisissent une vie apostolique errante, en priant et en mendiant, au cri : « un pain pour l’amour de Dieu ».

Prenait ainsi naissance, sous une multiplicité de formes, le mouvement des béguines qui a toutefois partout le même but : vivre en milieu urbain, mais retirées, une vie de perfection basée sur la prière, le travail sanctifié, le service aux démunis, la vie communautaire et la recherche mystique même, avec des formes d’ascétisme.

L’expérience béguinale est ainsi un mixte original d’éléments laïques : individualité, indépendance institutionnelle, travail rétribué, et d’éléments religieux : vie consacrée mais avec des engagements révocables, prière intense, service aux démunis et recherche mystique.

Le premier groupe de béguines historiquement daté se développe autour de Marie d’Oignies, (1177 – 1213), laquelle après avoir pendant 12 ans soigné des lépreux avec son mari, en 1207 se retire  à vie béguinale à Oignies, en Hainaut, province de l’actuelle Belgique. Un autre groupe se forme avec l’aide du prélat Lambert le Bègue qui, peu avant sa mort survenue à Liège en 1187, fait construire des maisonnettes autour de l’église de Saint Christophe pour y accueillir des femmes désirant vivre en retrait du monde. On connaît l’existence à Nivelles, à partir de 1208, d’un groupe de femmes qui se consacrent à la prière et aux œuvres de charité.

L’accroissement considérable de leur nombre, les péripéties, pour les femmes, d’une vie errante et les pressions ecclésiastiques en vue d’un établissement protégé mènent à la création des béguinages, quadrilatères de petites maisons individuelles entourés de murs, qui obtiendront ensuite le statut de paroisses. Le mouvement atteint son expansion maximale au  XIIIe siècle et à partir de la seconde moitié de ce siècle il se développe surtout dans les béguinages.

Une telle diversité et l’absence d’une structure centralisée rendent difficile la quantification du nombre des béguines : on sait, d’une lettre du pape Jean XXII à l’évêque de Strasbourg, qu’en 1321 près de 200.000 béguines vivent dans la seule Allemagne occidentale. En 1372, 1300 béguines vivent à Bruxelles, plus de 4% des 30.000 habitants d’alors. On a cité le chiffre d’un million de béguines en Europe au moment de leur expansion maximale, mais ce n’est pour le moment qu’une estimation non documentée.

Le mouvement béguinal n’a pas une origine précise et pas même une fondatrice.

Sainte Begge avec des bégards et des béguines (Mechelen )

On a voulu au XVIIe siècle la trouver en Sainte Begge, mais la tentative fut rapidement abandonnée du fait que Begge, sœur de l’abbesse Gertrude de Nivelles, meurt bien avant, exactement en 693. Sans fondatrice, sans origine précise, le mouvement béguinal est aussi sans règle unique, puisque chaque béguinage dispose de sa propre règle. Et encore, le mouvement béguinal est aussi sans une historiographie codifiée, ce qui explique en partie sa faible visibilité historique.

Ces femmes semi-religieuses sont dénommées de manières différentes suivant les pays de résidence. Jacques de Vitry dans l’un de ses sermons écrits entre 1229 et 1240, nous les énumère :

en latin         MULIER   RELIGIOSA
en français    PAPELARDE
en lombard  HUMILIATA
en toscan        BIZZOCA
en allemand   COQUENNUNNE
en flamand    BEGIJN.

L’origine du nom flamand est incertaine : c’est peut-être une corruption philologique du terme « albigeois » ou une dérivation de la couleur « beige » de leur habit ou encore du vieil allemand « beggen, beggan » : prier ou du vieux français « begart » : marmonner des prières ou du celtique, en français, « bègue-béguelle » . simplet, bigot.

m2-21begarts
Bégards

Le mouvement béguinal inclut aussi des hommes, les bégards.  Pas plus que les béguines, ils ne sont liés par des vœux définitifs ; ils n’ont pas une règle unique  et les membres d’une communauté obéissent au seul supérieur local. Mais contrairement à elles, les bégards n’ont pas de propriété privée. Les frères d’un même couvent ont une bourse commune, vivent sous le même toit et mangent à la même table. Pour la plupart d’entre eux, ils sont d’origine modeste : des tisserands, des teinturiers, … et, de ce fait, intimement liés aux corporations des métiers. Il semblerait même qu’aucun homme ne pouvait être admis au couvent des bégards de Bruxelles s’il n’était pas membre de la Compagnie des tisserands et cela n’a peut-être pas été le seul cas. Les bégards sont des hommes envers lesquels le sort n’a pas été tendre. Des hommes rescapés ou dont les liens familiaux ont été brisés par un malheur, et qui pour des raisons d’âge, de santé ou d’accidents ne peuvent pas vivre seuls

La période de grande ferveur religieuse qui voit naître le mouvement béguinal est la même qui voit naître les ordre mendiants (franciscain et dominicain), et un nombre important de mouvements qualifiés d’hérétiques (Apostoliques, Albigeois, Cathares, Libres esprits, Pauvres volontaires…) et violemment réprimés par l’Eglise. Le mouvement béguinal est lui aussi considéré comme suspect et en odeur d’hérésie. Grâce à l’intervention active de quelques prélats, au XIIIe siècle sont rédigées deux bulles papales pour la protection des béguines de quelques diocèses de l’actuelle Belgique (Bulle de Grégoire IX en 1233 et d’Urbain IV en 1269), mais la répression se poursuivant partout ailleurs, les béguines allemandes, françaises, italiennes et autres eurent du mal à résister.

L’Inquisition, créée en 1231, condamne au bûcher des béguines aussi. Parmi elles, Lutgarde de Trèves en 1231, Aleydis de Cambrai en 1236 et Marguerite Porete en 1310. Le synode de Vienne (1311-1312) condamne le mouvement béguinal comme hérétique, mais ce jugement est mitigé par deux bulles papales : la première de Jean XXII en 1319 pour les béguines du Brabant et en 1343 celle de Clément VI pour les béguines hollandaises.

Béguines

Poursuivies, soumises à des procédures inquisitoriales, souvent dépouillées de leurs biens, obligées mêmes à fermer leurs institutions, seules les béguines des Pays Bas peuvent continuer sans trop d’agressions, mais le climat est partout marqué par la suspicion et la stricte observance des règles. Des temps difficiles, durant lesquels les nouvelles constructions, tel le béguinage d’Hoogstraten en 1380, sont extrêmement rares. La répression continua jusqu’au moment où elles furent toutes transférées en enceintes fermées et bien ordonnées. Les bégards, plus obstinés, furent à plusieurs reprises condamnés au niveau local et terminèrent leurs vicissitudes avec la fin du Moyen âge.

La crise de la Réforme aux Pays Bas septentrionaux passés au Calvinisme élimine tous les béguinages à l’exception de ceux d’Amsterdam et de Breda. Dans les Pays Bas méridionaux, le mouvement reprend du souffle, mais avec en surplomb la Contre-Réforme, qui exige une tutelle accrue des directeurs spirituels et une clôture plus sévère.

Le gouvernement autrichien qui, par la paix d’Utrecht en 1713, obtient le pouvoir sur ces territoires n’encourage pas le mouvement, au contraire il lui met bien des obstacles, via des réglementations et des taxes, qui obligent les béguines à des ventes forcées et à bas prix de leurs béguinages.

Enfin, l’occupation française en 1795 confisque leurs biens et accepte leur existence uniquement en tant que service d’assistance. En 1814, les béguines peuvent reprendre leur habit mais pas leurs biens et, en 1824, pendant un temps sont interdites aussi des nouvelles professions.

Malgré cela, en 1896 vivent encore 1230 béguines en Belgique, en 1960 il y en a encore 600 en 11 béguinages, mais à la fin du siècle on peut les compter sur les doigts des deux mains.

marcella-ultima-beghina
Marcella Pattijn

La dernière béguine au monde, Marcella Pattijn (1920- 2013), meurt durant son sommeil le dimanche 14 avril 2013 à Kortrijck dans le home Sint-Jozef qui l’avait accueillie après qu’elle ait habité dans le béguinage de cette ville de 1960 à 2005.

VIDEO